Notes From the Heart- Chapter 21: First

Chapter 21: First

(A/N: hi po! Sorry medyo matagal mag-update. Super busy na talaga since malapit na matapos ang sem and ojt starts in summer. Thanks tho sa mga nagbabasa and nagcocomment! 🙂 happy reading:))

He is sleeping peacefully on his bed while Maya is seated on the couch reading John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. She cried so hard as she reached its ending. She wondered why two people madly in love could suffer every day of their life with the thought of losing each other. As if they are dying every day. Death will sunder them. Like you’ve lost a part of your existence.

Wiping her tears strolling down her face, she looked up at the man that she loves. Her heart went to him as she imagined how Richard also experienced such pain of losing someone. You can never prepare your heart in such experience.

Suddenly, she saw Richard moved on his bed, pulling the covers above his chest. He must be cold, she thought. Maya slowly stood up from the couch to turn off the air condition. Laying her eyes back at Richard, she saw him mouthing something. She went near him.

“Ma..ya..” He mumbled. A smile crept up on her face as she heard him calling her.

Her hand touched his forehead and responded “nandito ako..”

“Stay here beside me please.” He requested while his eyes still closed.

“Dito lang ako Ricky.” She promised him as she took a seat on the side of his bed.

“I want to.. To.. hug you, I’m cold..” He pleaded, his voice is shaking.

Panicking, she responded “Nako, sobrang giniginaw ka na ba? Baka kailangan ka na dalhin sa ospital!”

“No…” He weakly but firmly said. He hates staying inside the hospital. Too much bad memories are left in there. For him, that place doesn’t cure people. It only gives hope. A flicker of hope. “I just need you beside me please.”

Maya secretly smiled. If staying beside him forever would make him stronger, she would gladly stay. “Sige na. Magpahinga ka na.” She laid beside Richard. His arm quickly engulfed Maya in a hug pulling her even closer to him, as if never wanting to let her go.

“I love you..” He whispered on her ear which made Maya’s heart to do somersault. He drifted back off to sleep few minutes after, as she stayed staring at his face.

“I love you, Ricky!” She smiled broadly at the sleeping image of Richard before she closes her eyes.
~~
He woke up with his head pounding hard. Another headache welcomed him but good for him, he feels better that moment. He no longer feels heavy and cold. The moment that he shifted his eyes on his side, he saw the love of his life sleeping beside him. His lips crept up automatically. For a long time, finally, he once again felt such happiness and contentment.

He embraced her even tighter and closes his eyes to savour the moment. As an idea hit him, he carefully sat up and reached for his phone on the bedside table. He wanted so bad to treasure that moment with her. Frame it, even. One thing that he had learned in his past, is to treasure every day with your loved one. With a few seconds of staring at his girl, memorizing every single detail of her face, he took a snapshot photo of a sleeping Maya and another shot, with his arm stretched up in the air, a photo of him kissing her forehead.

He smiled contentedly with the result.
~~
Days with each other passed by so fast. They’ve been a normal couple. Hanging out when time permits, and saying I love yous and sweet nothings to each other. Maya never felt this way. She love Richard so much that she can do anything for him. Their monthsary is today. Richard is on his meeting in Cebu for 3days and tomorrow is the day that he will return. It is sad to celebrate their first month together without each other by their sides. But she understands so well how important work is for Richard.

It was lunch time when Maya’s phone rang. She is in the office and is not in the mood to eat outside with her friends. So, she ordered some food from the fast food chain for her to eat while finishing some paper works.

Her face lit up as Richard’s name flashed on the screen.

“Hello sweetheart!” She happily greeted Richard on the other line.

“Hi baby. Happy monthsary. Sorry ngayon lang ako nakatawag. I have an early meeting kanina kakatapos nga lang.” He explained

“Okay lang, happy monthsary din.” She giddily said.

“I have read all your text messages. I love you so much. Sorry hindi ko nareplyan kanina.” He further asked forgiveness. “It’s okay, Ricky. Kamusta ka naman diyan? Kumain ka na ba?”

“We are on our way out. Kakain pa lang kami. How about you?”

“Uh.. Kumakain na din.” She told him while toying her spaghetti

“Ah. You’re with Emman?” He asked when she noticed the quietness surrounding Maya’s line. He was curious because usually, when she’s with Emman, he would hear loud chats and laughter on the line.

“Ah hindi.”

Curiously, “what? Eh sino kasama mo?” He asked again. “Wala, ako lang. Dito lang ako sa office, umorder ng food sa fast food.”

“What? Maya, eat healthy foods please. Baka magkasakit ka. Kahapon din yan na kinain mo. Tapos you even skipped dinner yesterday sabi ng mommy mo.” He scolded her

She half smiled upon hearing his concerns. She misses him so bad. “Sorry na po. Okay, promise kakain ako ng something na healthy mamayang merienda and dinner.” She told him

“That’s good, then.” He is now walking outside the building with Liza and Ryan heading out somewhere. “Anyway, natanggap mo ba yung flowers na pinadala ko?” He excitedly asked her.

She was surprised with what she heard from him. Since morning she is waiting for a greeting from him but to no avail. She thought that he might be busy with his meetings that morning so she will just greet him first. A second ago, she even thought that Richard forgot their special day. “Uh.. Hindi.” She said

“What?!” He exclaimed on the other line. She even heard him talking to Liza about the delivery of the flowers. After a few moment, he talked to her again. “I’m so sorry about that Maya. Liza will just check the place where she ordered those. Maybe sa bahay nyo pala nai-address ni Liza or baka nalate ng delivery. Sorry, baby.” His excited tone earlier changed to disappointment.

“Ano ka ba, okay lang yon. Mas okay nga sana kung ikaw ang nandito..” She sadly told him. She’s been excited about this day, but all of her excitement was gone when he told her the other day that he’s flying to Cebu. She expected a day well spent with him.

“I’ll be there soon. I miss you a lot, Maya.” Her heart melted upon hearing him say that. She will never get used to his sweetness. “I’ll call you back, okay? I have to work with something”

“Okay, bye sweetheart! See you tomorrow. Hihintayin ko tawag mo.” The sadness that she is feeling earlier suddenly disappeared. Although she will be happier if she will see him on their monthsary but then she thought, there are more days and monthsary that they will be spending in the future. She will just look forward to that.
~~

“Oy girl! Ano? Una na kami ha?” Emman told her at exactly 5 in the afternoon.

“Ha? Uy sabay na ako. Saglit na lang ‘to talaga promise.” She said. She doesn’t want to go home alone, that will give her time to be sad and to miss Richard even more.

“Eh girl, may pupuntahan pa kasi kami nila Eds at Simon eh. Basta una na kami. Bye!” Emman quickly left after that and disappeared before she could plead him to wait for her. Actually, that is the first time that Emman didn’t ask her to go with them. She could only shrug her shoulders on why her friend acted differently.

At six in the evening, she finally decided to go home. She went inside the lift on her way down to the lobby when suddenly, the electricity went out. The elevator stopped. Lights were off. She screamed in panic. “Aaaah! Ano ba yan. Tulong!” Was all she could say over and over again.

Her phone is the only source of light inside the elevator. She dialed Richard’s number in a hurry. She’s so scared that time.

“He-”

“Ricky!” She dismissed the greeting and proceeded to the reason why she called. “Help please! Baka naman may pwede kang tawagan. I got stucked here sa elevator. Walang kuryente!” Beads of sweat are now forming on her forehead.

“What? Alright. Keep calm, don’t panic. We have generators, right?”

“Eh ewan ko! Baka sira or something. Natatakot na ako!” She said

“Alright, baby. I’ll help you. I’ll be there.” Then he hung up. Maya was confused. She even thought that he’s joking with what he said that he’ll be there and help her. ‘Baka nagkamali lang Maya, may uutusan siguro to help you. Tama. Keep calm and wait for your hero!’ She told herself.

After few more minutes, the lights went on. She heave a sigh of relief. Finally! Good thing she doesn’t have any phobia with close places. The elevator opened and she was beyond surprised on what welcomed her in the lobby of the building.

The lights were off, but there is a spot light on the man she’s been wanting so bad to see that day. She must have fainted inside the elevator and is now dreaming! This isn’t real.

As she took few steps towards Richard and her eyes had adjusted with the darkness of the place, she noticed that the whole place is decorated with flowers. Lots of them! The lobby looked like a flower shop.

Richard is smiling at her so wide. She can no longer take it. She missed this man! She needed to confirm that this is not a dream. So, she ran towards her and almost stumbled. Richard quickly made his way to her and held her shoulder. “Maya, are you okay?”

“Y-y-yess. Why are you here?”

“Namiss kita eh. Gusto mo ba ako bumalik ng Cebu?” He acted like he was hurt with her welcome to him.

“Of course not!” She replied. He embraced her tightly. Oh how she missed his tight embrace. But she had to ask him something, so she pushed him a little to talk to him. “Wait. So, yung pagwala ng kuryente, part of your plan?” She had to clear that. She’s very scared inside the elevator. “At saka, bakit ang daming flowers? Hindi naman ako magtatayo ng flower shop?” She giggled.

“Well, partly yes. I’m sorry baby, ang bilis mo kasi bumaba, hindi pa tapos yung preparations so I have to delay you a little. Are you really scared? I’m sorry.” He gave her a light kiss on her lips and held her again. “And about the flowers, I got mad on how the delivery came late, so pinacancel ko na lang and I bought more somewhere else. But I want you to keep everything, okay?” He said, which made her laugh. “Okay po.”

“So, natakot ka ba sa loob ng elevator? I should have asked your friends na lang pala sana na samahan ka pababa but they insisted kasi na mas maganda if you’re alone.” He revealed. So that is why they are acting weird!

Yes, she is scared earlier but she can no longer recall that feeling because it was replaced with so much love that she is feeling at that moment. “It’s alright. At least you’re here. Nasurprise talaga ako.” He is really that kind of guy who loves to surprise his girl. She remembered reading a lot of such events in the notebook.

“Actually, I’m not the only surprise here.” And suddenly, the lights turned on together with the band that Maya didn’t notice earlier. The band started playing All of Me by John Legend.

What would I do without your smart mouth?
Drowning me in and you Kicking me out?
Got my head spinning, no kidding
I can’t pin you down
What’s going on in that beautiful mind?
I’m on your magical mystery ride
And I’m so dizzy, don’t know what hit me
But I’ll be alright

The two of them started dancing at the middle of the lobby. Maya couldn’t believe it. It feels like a dream turned into reality.

My head’s underwater
But I’m breathing fine
You’re crazy and I’m outta my mind

Cause all of me loves all of you
Love your curves and all your edges
All your perfect imperfections
Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you
You’re my end and my beginning
Even when I lose, I’m winning
Cause I give you all of me
And you give me all of you, oh

Maya rested her head on Richard’s shoulder savoring their dance. Just when she thought that this day would end as another ordinary day, it turned out as she had never imagined it to be. And she, too cannot explain the feelings that’s bubbling up inside her.

How many times do I have to tell you
Even when you’re crying, you’re beautiful too?
The world is beating you down
I’m around through every move
You’re my downfall, you’re my muse
My worst distraction, my rhythm and blues
Can’t stop singing, this ringing in my head for you

My head’s underwater
But I’m breathing fine
You’re crazy and I’m outta my mind

She really loves everything about Ricky. Because all of her loves all of him. She could only wish that he feels the same way. But right at that moment, she knows that he does.

Cause all of me loves all of you
Love your curves and all your edges
All your perfect imperfections
Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you
You’re my end and my beginning
Even when I lose, I’m winning
Cause I give you all of me
And you give me all of you

Cards on the table
Were both showing hearts
Risking it all though it’s hard

Cause all of me loves all of you
Love your curves and all your edges
All your perfect imperfections
Give your all to me, I’ll give my all to you
You’re my end and my beginning
Even when I lose, I’m winning
Cause I give you all of me
You give me all, of you, oh
I give you all, all of me, yeah,
And you give me all, all of you, oh

“I love you.” They both uttered almost at the same time. They hug each other once again as the band keeps on playing romantic songs.

After their dance, Richard and Maya went out to have their dinner in a fancy restaurant near Makati. They enjoyed their first monthsary together as a couple and for Maya, it’s much way more better than anybody else’s.
~~

sana medyo nakabawi. Haha and yung susunod na chapter after finals na lang namin. :))

Protected by Copyscape Duplicate Content Detector

11 thoughts on “Notes From the Heart- Chapter 21: First

  1. Ooohhhhh! I’m so loving Richard right now that was the sweetest thing ever!!! Sana tuloy tuloy na hanggang simbahan para kasalan !!!!! I hope next chapter wil be soon please !!!!!!

  2. Yehey!!! Nakabawi ka rin Richard…sana nga talagang naka move on ka na..Love this fanfic so much! Thanks a lot!!! 🙂

  3. Nung last chapter i feel bad for maya kasi feeling ko hindi cya masyadong mahal ni Richard… Sa chapter na ito …. Grabe ang bawi ni Mr. Lim.. Nilanggam ako sa sobrang sweet..,

  4. woooohooooooo!!!!! super duper sweeeeeeeeeet ang ginawa ni richard kay maya ……. at ms. kate nakabawi ka talaga ….. salamat sa update.

  5. hi there! I just discovered your blog. I just want to request if you can make a library of your stories? para mas madali balik balikan ang mga stories. and para na din sa katulad ko na bago, madali mag catch up sa stories. marathon lang! 🙂 thank you! kapag hindi ka na lang busy. hehep

      • makukuha mo din yun. sana magkatime ka to explore wordpress. sa side bar may pages diba? tapos ayun pwede ka gumawa from there. magbabalik balik ka nga lang sa paghahanap ng link. kaya mo yan. copy paste lang naman yun. pero syempre kapag you have the time na. message mo lang ako if you need help.

Leave a Reply

