The Dying Girl

Hi. Long time no post. HaHa 😉 I don’t know when I will update the other stories but I am planning to do so the soonest my imagination allows me to. BTW this new story will only have few parts. I was inspired by a movie I watched but I cannot remember the title. hahaha so enjoy reading. Sorry for any errors as I no longer have time left to edit this :))


 

 

The Dying Girl

 

The sun rays slip through my window early in the morning. I stirred as it hit my face and covered my eyes with my pillow. I don’t know what time is it already and I don’t care. All I care about is the throbbing pain of my head because of a couple of beers that I drank last night.

 

Parties. Girls. Those are what I love, says my mom and she’s right. After office, I would usually go out with my friends to party and drink. Some days would end up with a girl in my condo unit but not last night.

 

 

“Richard!!” roared my mom from the other side of the door while knocking. Yes, I went home last night since she texted me that she needs to tell me something important. However, I was still up until wee of hours as it is Friday night and I needed some stress reliever before my mom reminds me of the transition and when I will be taking over the company.

 

 

You see, I know I will be having a lot of responsibilities soon enough as my parents age and I am enjoying my life before that day comes.

 

 

Reluctantly, I stood up to open the door for her. “Son, you still remember that childhood friend of yours??”

 

Wow. This is the first time that my mom didn’t greeted me a good morning and even the topic is so random.

 

I looked at her and saw her eyebrows furrowed, lips tight, and arms crossed. My mom seemed worried and bothered by something. “Actually Ma, I am not sure who you are referring to.”

 

 

“Anak, please talk to her. Visit her try to cheer her up.” She is pacing this time in my room. The heck is wrong with whoever, is she??

 

“Ma, calm down.. relax.” I grab her by the shoulders and I was surprised to see her eyes brimming in tears. Woah. Wait a sec. “Ma?”

 

 

“You remember your tita Tere? My friend in Cebu? Tapos di ba yung anak nya ay kalaro mo noong seven years old ata kayo noon nung lumipat tayo dito sa Manila then nine kayo nung lumipad sila ng England?”

 

 

Okaaay… I am following. I think I remember that time but I was too young to even remember the face. I know tita Tere for I saw her pictures with my young mom way back when they were in college. But the daughter??

 

 

I think my mom noticed that I no longer remember so she explained further “Tere called me yesterday” she sniffed.

 

“Oh so nandito na sila?”

 

“Matagal na after her daughter graduated there and every time na I am outside for lunch, I am with her. And ayun na nga as I was saying, She called me crying saying incoherent words and there her dear daughter is sick.”

 

 

“Okay, mom. Everyone gets sick.” I Shrug, I mean come on I can’t even still remember the name of my childhood friend.

 

“RICHARD! SHE HAS LEUKEMIA.” And from that point, I saw my mom sobbing as if it dawned on her that she might lose a daughter.

 

 

“She’s so nice and is still young I don’t even know why and how this is happening, son.”

 

I am still standing there, shocked on the sudden news. Even though I don’t remember her, I somehow feel bad that her life would suddenly change because of that.

 

I embraced my mom tight while she’s still crying. “Please do visit her tomorrow after your work or you could just skip work and let’s go in Rizal together.”

 

 

Tomorrow…I have an important meeting with a CEO of another company that I cannot cancel plus it is Ryan’s birthday.

 

 

“Ma, I have an important meeting and..”

 

“Richard! Her time is very important. Please do this for me and for her. She used to be your friend. You can have parties some other days. If you cannot cancel your meeting then at least visit her after that meeting and no more buts.”

 

 

 _________________________________________

 

Tita Tere greeted us warmly in front of the door. You can already see the dark circles around her eyes. She surely didn’t sleep well for days. The news took off all the positive energy that she has the last time that I saw her.

 

 

“How are you?” my mom asked her while we were guided inside her enormous glass house.

 

 

“not good but what else can I do?”

 

“Pray and believe in Him, Tere.” Mom pats her shoulder to comfort Tita Tere.

 

 

Everything is quiet and it is awkward. I don’t know what to do and don’t know if Maya even wanted me to be here.

 

I hope she gets well.

 ____________________________________

“Pinilit ka ba nila na bisitahin ako?”

 

THANK HEAVENS THE WOMAN CAN TALK! It took her good fifteen minutes after our mothers left us alone to talk.

 

We were outside her room’s terrace, staring at the beautiful view in front of us. She did smile at me earlier when we were introduced. Then I suddenly remember those summer days when we will visit each other’s houses to play or swim. Good times. But we were both still young then, I can’t even remember the details.

 

 

“Uh.. Not at all.” I lied…a little. My mom did push me a little but I was also curious and would want to see what she looks like after all those years. She’s gorgeous by the way, and I even think that word is an understatement. She’s amazing, too bad she only have numbered days.

 

 

“At least do the dying girl a favor and don’t lie. I had a lot of messages and phone calls from persons I rarely interact with tapos they are acting as if super tagal ko na sila kaclose.” She rolled her eyes while saying this. “Like you. I’m sure you don’t remember me and now you’re here.”

 

Silence. I cannot even deny that what she said is true. People rarely care especially if they aren’t even friends with you.

 

“I’m sure you hate it.”

 

She takes her time before answering me. “I hate everything about it. Yung hindi mo masyadong kilala would reach out kasi naawa sila sa’yo. Then those who cared before, the one you’re closest with sila yung lumalayo because they don’t know how to handle the situation.”

 

 

“they aren’t real friends then.” I said

 

She nodded and kept quiet again.

 

 

 ___________________________________________

“Hi. I am watching When Harry Met Sally.” Maya greeted me the next day that I visit her. I don’t know why I am here again, and I am sure she was a little bit surprise as well that I am here.

 

I took a seat beside her on her bed and took some of her popcorn from her bowl. I don’t know what’s with girls and cheesy movies.

 

“Do you believe on that??” I ask her in the middle of the film. She’s been so consumed that she doesn’t even care about me.

 

After pausing the movie, she stares at me while chewing her popcorn. “Naniniwala sa alin?”

 

“That a man and a woman can’t stay as friends sort of thing.”

 

Eyebrows creased, lips pouted, damn she’s so cute. How can my mom didn’t reintroduce us much way more early? “I think so..my boyfriend, I mean ex.” I raised my eyebrows at this “we were friends bago naging kami. Siguro attracted na talaga siya sakin kaya nakipagkaibigan bago ako niligawan.” She said confidently with a hint of sarcasm, I laughed at her.

 

 

“So that boyfriend, I mean ex of yours, what happened to him?”

 

 

“Patay na.” she answered without breaking eye contact.

 

“He died??? Paano?” I asked, curiously. How can this beautiful girl’s life be as heart breaking as this?

 

“Pinatay ko na siya. Wag mo na ipaalala. Di na nagparamdam after nya malaman na I am sick. Sabi nya di daw nya alam if he can take it if mawala ako sa buhay nya kaya kailangan daw muna nya lumayo. Hayop di ba?” She chuckled and took a handful of popcorn before putting everything in her mouth.

 

“More of gago siya.” I can’t do this. I play with girl’s heart but I will never leave a girl when she needed you the most.

“Pabayaan mo na siya.” She took her remote control and resume on playing the movie.

 

It was good. I can’t even believe that I will be enjoying such classic cheesy film.

 

“Cliché pero maganda no? Hindi maganda how they started but still they ended up together. I think they are destined.”

 

“So now you believe in destiny.” I smile at her. I admire how idealistic she is despite of everything.

 

“Oo naman. Kung para sa’yo, para sa’yo. Kung oras mo na, oras mo na” she said, the last words almost inaudible. I can feel the sadness in her voice.

 

And again, I don’t know what to say.

 ___________________________________________

 

Sunday afternoon after I drop my mom and Tita Tere in the mall, I was left with Maya. I enjoy her company, we became friends in a short span of time. We talk about anything under the sun and our friendship somehow reminds me of Tuesdays with Morrie although I dismiss that thought instantly as I don’t want how it ended. Such thing won’t happen to us.

 is wearing a black mickey mouse shirt, maong shorts and her Disney vans. She looks cute and looks young for her age. “Where are you going?” I asked her after noticing that as I entered her room, she already took her sling bag and is eyeing me.

 

 

“WE are going out!” she emphasized the first word, excited with her idea of going out.

 

 

“No. you are not allowed to go out. You should rest.” I remind her of her mom’s instruction. It must have been hard not being able to go outside of the four corners of her room but rest is also important for her.

 

 

“Wag ka na KJ Mr. Lim please. Di ka ba naaawa sa’kin? Malakas pa naman ako pero di na ako nakakalabas ng kwarto ko. Saka isa pa, next next week pa start ng treatment ko, kailangan ko na makagala before pa ako mawalan ng buhok.” She smiled at me ever so lovingly, trying to make me say yes. Behind those lovely doe-shaped eyes, I can sense how scared and sad she is.

 

 

I should’ve said no, but I couldn’t. She needs this. I will give her what she want, just for today.

 

 

 

“Ano bang gagawin natin?”

 

“Gusto ko lang kumain ng ice cream tapos kumain lang ng kumain. Baka kasi next time di na ako makakain masyado. So pleaseeee.”

 

 

“Okay. Pero di tayo pwede gabihin.”

 

“YEY!!!” she jumped with so much joy. How can she be this adorable?

 _____________________________________

We made it inside the ice cream parlor that she likes. She’s been very excited smiling at everything she sees. Two weeks had passed since the last time that she went in a mall and it felt that it has been forever, she said.

 

While we are waiting for her order, we took a seat on a corner and I took the time to go and check my phone for new messages and emails. Mostly I get messages from my mom asking about us, I ignored it for now and replied a text message that I receive from a girl I met at the bar a week ago, before I started my daily visits with Maya.

 

“Hi Chard, when can we hang out?” the text message reads

 

“how ‘bout tonight? 😉” I replied. I will not deny that I miss those parties and nights with girls so might as well do it tonight. Anyway, I already had spent my time with Maya this afternoon.

 

 

“ok sure, your place?”

 

 

“ok. Will text you later.” I am looking forward for tonight! I smiled secretly then look at Maya who became quiet in front of me.

 

 

“What is wrong?” I ask her worriedly. She must have been feeling something. This is a bad idea.

 

 

“Gago talaga siya.” She murmured repeatedly, I followed her eyes and stared at a couple seated far away from us. They are obviously sweethearts because they would occasionally laugh at each other and would even offer a spoon of ice cream to the other.

 

“Ahh..kilala mo sila?”

 

 

“That guy is my exboyfriend, and the girl is her officemate. I remember her kasi lagi ko siya nakikita sa pictures nila every time may outing sila. Di ba siraulo siya? Ginawa pa niyang reason yung sakit ko.” She is turning red in anger. I want to punch the guy.

 

 

“Do you want me to punch him?” I suggested. I am so ready to do it if she will give me a go signal.

 

 

“No. Choose your battles. Di siya deserving ng oras at effort mo. Uwi na lang tayo.”

 

She stood up abruptly and left me inside. I took her ice cream and followed her after sending a quick message.

 

 

Hi. I’m sorry. Something important came up. Let’s just meet some other time.

 

Maya needs me more than anyone else. So not tonight, old self.

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “The Dying Girl

  1. Wow! Another story to look forward to.😙 Nag bunga din kakarefresh. Thanks. More updates please.🌻🌻🌻

  2. Welcome back Ms. Katey… and thank you for this new story… kinda heartbreaking but still hopeful for a happy ending… can’t wait for the next chapter…

  3. Hi!!! I just found your blog..so nice ng mga fanfics…can i have the password of some your story pretty please like TOTGA..chapter 17 and 25…. im a huge fan of Jochard..thank you.. here is my email gechavez@ymail.com

Leave a Reply

